Being Seen

I never thought much about Hagar, the slave girl who had Abraham’s other kid in Genesis 16. I was captivated by the name she gave God, “the God who sees”, and the fact that this random Egyptian is woven into the telling of God’s story in such a way, but its not like we had anything in common. Her story is so removed from mine, I mean slavery, sleeping with a married man so you can give your master a child, its all pretty weird and foreign.
Feeling unseen though, I’m starting to notice that. I’m not one who craves the spotlight by any means, but as a mom to very young children I’ve noticed this feeling of being put off in a desert sometimes 😉 
Moms, you may get this sense, your always off nursing in a corner ( doesn’t exactly make you the life of the party), or you feel you can’t converse even with other moms because you are all looking after your kids all the time, even when you plan those playdates more to be with other moms, you just have to mom so much you can’t talk! It can make you feel a bit lost at times can’t it? I mean hey sometimes it works in your favor,  anytime you dont want to talk or do something I suppose your kids can need your attention, but after months of this you may feel decidedly unseen.
This is not a cry of losing your identity and needing to get a job to find it or anything like that, I don’t feel I don’t know who I am anymore, I don’t need to be on a stage, I don’t need to do a big dance number after David says “no one puts Amanda in a corner”, but I do need to be reminded in the midst of the chaos and hard work, God sees.
God. Sees. Me. He sees the effort, the wins and the losses and he knows, he knows what goes on in my heart and mind. He knows what it means to love sacrificially, he knows it far far better than I ever will. He designed me for this and he sees. It’s just so nice to hear it isn’t it? He sees. So I’m very thankful that a slave girl in the desert,  pretty much a bajillion years ago, was seen and called God the God who sees her. It reminds all of us, we are seen. Moms take heart, he is the one who sees and cares for you.

Leave a Reply

