Wiwi Blockade of 2013

First let me start by saying “wiwi” means kiwi in our house. I realize that it could mean other things so I needed to clarify.
Leia has historically loved kiwis and eaten many of them.  She survives off fruit, yogurt, almond milk, and peanut butter for the most part. Oh and brown rice from Chipotle because that’s her pregnant mom’s favorite food right now.
Suddenly she won’t eat wiwis! The same thing happened to the avocado!  For someone who doesn’t seem to want to try new foods like at all right now it seems a poor strategy to give up the few foods you like!!
Anyway, I’ve had some success with eat this then you can have this or you can do that. Yesterday she wanted a muffin or cake as she calls it so I said eat your wiwi and you get your cake. A battle of wills I was not prepared for ensued. I admit she did not eat the wiwi. Have I marred our relationship beyond repair? She didnt seem to really get the epic battle going on really. Usually she’s pretty good at accepting no. I hope to not start fights I can’t finish in the future! Have you ever backed down when faced with a toddler’s will?  How do you get your kids to eat?  I take some comfort in the statistic I read that said the majority of 16-24 month olds most eaten vegetable is the french fry!? And that they eat fast food daily. Well leia won’t eat fries so there! And she doesn’t eat fast food except for a couple chick fil a incidents.

Leave a Reply

