Potty Purgatory

I hate the potty. It started when Leia was around 21 months I thought oh maybe she is ready? A day or two of no pee in the potty and a frustrated toddler I figured she was not ready and tabled it. Now I felt compelled to try again I mean if she could just get something in there once maybe she will get it right? Plus with Scoggins baby the second on the way I feel compelled to get these big girl changes in motion like the big girl bed and the potty (but I’m ignoring binky alright?!)
Anyway we were on the potty for over half an hour no luck. I knew she had to go though and she did she just saved it up until her diaper was on and then Niagara Falls 😦
Yesterday she also removed the portable sesame street potty seat and smacked me in the face with it. I couldn’t ignore getting hit in the face with a toilet seat but was also afraid to have a stern moment anywhere near the hallowed throne. She wasn’t angry or anything just bam hit in the face out of nowhere.
On top of this with this pregnancy I’m struggling with a bit of hormonal hulkitis. Anger and irritation I have noticed are cropping up a lot more than usual right now. Grr the potty isn’t helping. Just the thought of it makes me start feeling impatient. And of course hulk doesn’t like getting hit in the face with it. But the potty is all about patience! I feel like I need to be consistent but she resists and I don’t want to push the potty. I’m tired of giving up though. Everybody gets there eventually right? That’s what they said in a song on Sesame Street anyway (currently my favorite potty song though there is a weird line about everyone doing it with their own special style????what could that even mean????)
On the bright side leia is getting so communicative there are new words everyday and that’s a lot of fun:) she is overall a fun happy kid.

20130502-173704.jpg

3 thoughts on “Potty Purgatory

  1. If she is resistant, don’t push it. Reintroduce it every month or so and she will finally get the picture. Make sure there is some sort of reward. Eventually, the reward can be weaned away once she’s really getting the hang of it. I had the same problem starting my first around 18 mo. She would show progress, and then revert back. She was finally potty trained at 2 1/2. Putting pressure on them doesn’t lead anywhere, except frustration for you. This will create a vicious cycle.

      • I didn’t find stopping and restarting an issue. If she is strong willed and not ready, nothing will work. She has to be part of the decision making process and feel comfortable with it. At least that is my experience. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

