Flying Solo

Leia has flown a good amount for a one year old. To Ohio and back, to Hawaii and back and she has done great. This is my first trip where I am the only parent and her first trip as a toddler. We finished the first leg of the trip, flying to Kansas to see my best friend and her new baby. Leia did great. It is definitely different having a toddler as opposed to say a 4 month old. I encourage new parents, travel with your tiny one, it seems the easiest time to travel to me! When you have only one child and they are totally portable and sleep a lot its pretty cool!  Even though Leia doesn’t sleep the way she did when she was younger, she still is pretty contained in my Beco carrier ( I can’t say enough how much a must have for me that thing has been and is!!) and she did sleep the second flight of the trip, everyone around remarked at what a great flyer she was 🙂 Even when she is awake she seemed to be pretty relaxed. I know a meltdown could always happen, that’s life with little ones and you know at the end of the day its OK, traveling with little ones, or really parenting at all I think requires a lot of telling yourself “just be cool! babies cry, kids get tired it will pass and you do your best to be considerate to others, but babies have a right to air travel too, I mean really is she never allowed to visit grandparents? So far no one has given us a dirty look, of course she hasn’t really had a big meltdown on a plane yet, but still I think most people are pretty understanding, most people at some point in their lives do have kids anyway.

When I am setting out on a trip with Leia I kind of visualize how it will go I think. I kind of think through when I will get what out, what I need in what pocket or bag, etc. Maybe I have issues, but it seems to help, taking it one step at a time and thinking it out a bit before hand. However, I felt like today was just not going according to my visualizing 🙂 First, security at LAX not only took forever, but it is a rather poorly designed airport in my opinion, at least not up to par for the post 9/11 security frenzy, and I felt like I was waved on more than usual, it was a long walk just to get to the security line they would let us go through. Then I have the huge car seat now, up until this point it was just the infant car seat but my plump princess has outgrown that and I was forced to take the huge convertible car seat. I decided to gate check it because I have had plenty of lost bags and hated the thought of showing up to my destination stranded at the airport. I had a little strap that attached the seat to a rolling bag . It is a pretty clever little device and Leia can even ride in her car seat like a makeshift stroller. Here is a link if you are intrested: http://www.amazon.com/Traveling-Toddler-Seat-Travel-Accessory/dp/B000JHN3AS/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1335670525&sr=1-1

It is still pretty awkward to wheel around though and the really bad thing is that you have to take it off for security and when you gate check the seat. I think it is a good invention if you are traveling with another adult, it isn’t hard to attach and detach, but when you are alone with a baby strapped to you it is cumbersome to say the least.  I just don’t think I realized how much more tiring it would be being alone, but I have confidence it will seem easier by the end of the trip 🙂

Now that I am here at my friends house I see just what a toddler Leia is! It is so much harder to keep after her in a new surrounding than our tiny house! She is never still now! My “no” seems to get her attention less than at home too :/ Life is certainly an adventure with a toddler in tow, but I love being with whether at home or on the road! Next stop is Ohio after a couple days here in Kansas, may the force be with us!

Leave a Reply

