Taking flight and crib walking

Well our first flight with Leia was a bit of baptism by fire, but really it was a stunning success. I would say the flight to Ohio was one of the worst I have had and that is saying something considering all the international travel I have done. We were supposed to fly from Burbank to Dallas to Dayton, we ended up flying from Burbank landing at LAX (%*%^&$) to refuel and sitting on the tarmac at LAX for about three hours before missing out connection in Dallas and spending the night there. It worked out well because of course that is David’s hometown so we saw all the grandparents 🙂 but we were without bags for not one but two nights! Through all that Leia never had a meltdown! She was amazing trapped in that plane! So if you are wondering whether or not you should travel with your little one once again I say go for it! (especially when you only have one and especially when that one is a baby it really seems like the prime time to travel). I found my baby carrier to be really helpful just to keep her confined and I think it prompted some sleep on her part too. Plus Daddy was a big help, we will see how it goes if I fly somewhere alone. She was on our laps this time, and it was no trouble, but if I do it alone I might spring for the extra seat.  Also, I did gate check the stroller/car seat combo and personally I thought it was great having the stroller in the airport to help carry our stuff. Now, Leia is outgrowing her infant carseat rapidly and her bigger girl carseat is on its way as I write so i am not sure what I will do about that next time. Those convertible carseats just don’t look travel friendly to me, so I will let you know how that plays out after our next trip (should be Hawaii in Feb!).

My other big concern for this trip was her sleep schedule, this would be the first time we dealt with a time difference and for a whole week. It has not been a problem at all praise God! Of course naps were a bit wonky with visiting and things but what happened was her normal bedtime here is 7 pm, which in Ohio is 10pm so we were able to just get her to bed around her normal bedtime most nights and still spend time with family. David and I had a harder time with the time difference than she has! Also, as a result of the trip it seems like the dream feed is no longer needed,since being back she goes to sleep and really doesn’t wake up until 6:30-7 AM, she is pretty much sleeping through the night, even more so than before we left! (last night she woke up at five because of a leaky diaper I think, but I got her back to sleep after that).  So really travel wise we have just been winning at everything!  The only thing is without the late night/early morning snacks that means breastfeeding is really over. That was the only time I could get her to nurse, and even then I am not sure she was really eating just comforting herself probably. I am just kind of refusing to think about it, 2011 had enough tears and stress over breastfeeding, I am not going to worry about it again until baby number 2 comes along.

It was great having Leia meet all the family, she had never even met my siblings, grandpa or Dad! Also, it really hit home the uniqueness of family. I don’t know if I have mentioned here before, but having a baby really changes things in regards to living a million miles from home. It’s one thing to live away from your parents and another to live away from your child’s grandparents. Usually when doing anything I am always taking care of Leia. Church, bible studies, etc I hold her and watch after her all the time, in Ohio my Mom, aunt, etc would just grab Leia and hold her and entertain her. I had a break in a way I can’ t get here really. I got to play games with my cousins and siblings and not worry about Leia. You have to know non family members really really well before they feel like they can just grab your baby and take her in another room. Similarly, David and I are going to a seminar together in March I am pretty sure, and to do so we are making a visit out of it in Ohio so we can drop Leia off with my Mom and Dad and then we will head off to NJ for the seminar. It is one thing to ask Grandma to watch your baby overnight or for more than one night and another thing to ask that of someone you are not related to. So anyway, Grandparents are great! It was also really fun to get a surprise little visit with the TX grandparents. Not fun always choosing between the two places because neither are driving distance!

I am truly thankful for the christmas trip we had. I hadn’t been home for Christmas in years! (My grandpa paid for the tickets, otherwise I never go at Christmas because of the ridonkulous jump in price).

Now there is one new problem we are having. Now that Leia has learned to “walk” in her crib naptime has become a war of attrition again, oddly enough nightime has become easier, but naps which have been great for weeks have become her standing in her crib yelling until I go in one or two times and physically lay her back down until she is too tired to get up again I guess? She will stand there rubbing her eyes and laying her head against the crib rail crying but not just lay down and sleep like she used to when she couldn’t stand! Boo! But super cute seeing her “walk”around!

Leave a Reply

