Growth Spurt Blues

I am pretty sure Leia is having her 3 month growth spurt. From what I have read it is the only logical conclusion, and if they really do last 10-12 days I would say we are somewhere in the middle of it.  This has been the worst growth spurt yet in my opinion! She has been extra fussy and her sleep at night all over the place.

It is just so frustrating, I have tried since she was born to have her on a flexible, or “parent directed” schedule of some sort. I am not super organized about it, and I don’t know if it is as much her nature (or the awesome woombie) as it is my efforts, but for the past month or so she has been on a really predictable sleep pattern. Nap from around 1-3, bed around 7:30-8:00, dreamfeed at 10 or 10:30 and then she would sleep until about 4:30 or 5! Pretty cool if I do say so myself! She has been a good little sleeper since she came home, I wasn’t expecting that at all, so it makes it all the more disconcerting when she goes through messed up sleep times. I feel like I messed something up or we are moving backwards, but really I think it is just a growth spurt. Babies grow so ridiculously fast!!I haven’t changed the routine up and she wants to eat so much more than usual.

I miss the routine! I am tired out from the extra feeding and the crazy nights. I feel really bad for her too, it cannot be easy growing so rapidly 😦  It is stretching me as a Mom in several ways. One, like i said I try hard to have a routine. In my mind it seems really good for her, so I arrange our day around her sleep times. I have been pretty successful so far and I think we have both thrived with our schedule, and then it all seems to fall apart and I have to try and figure out what is wrong and hope things can go back to normal, and then I question my efforts and what she needs. Should I be more organized or less, is she really hungry again, yes it seems so! What else could be bothering her? (I am always wondering when she will start teething too!?) Basically, it forces me to see I don’t have control.  Then of course physically, extra breastfeeding and less sleep leaves me pooped, combined with extra fussy time, I am beginning to feel like a zombie by the end of the day.

It is amazing to me though how I always find the energy and patience I need to care for her. In the middle of the night stumbling to her room, or after changing my shirt for the third time in one day due to spit up or pee, i always have what I need to love her. I get nervous about providing for the needs of a new baby when the time comes and Leia at the same time, but I know I should trust the Lord that He obviously gives us what we need for our callings.  Being a Mom has made me see my capacity in new ways, and see God’s grace in new ways! Coincidentally, I think it has made me braver, I can kill spiders now on my own for some reason.

Off to dreamfeed, a few days ago I thought I might give it up because she has been waking up anyway, but since I now am convinced it is a growth spurt I am going to stick to the routine for now and hope the ship holds together!

Leave a Reply

