diapers and other strange obsessions

I remember talking about cloth diapers with women before I had Leia, and hearing them say they were “passionate” about cloth diapers. I will admit, though I planned on cloth diapering I thought that was weird. I mean we are talking about diapers right? What could be more of a necessary evil? I loved the cost of cloth compared to disposables, and disposables just felt so wasteful to me in general. I think I feel since I am blessed to be a stay at home Mom when I can save our family money I really should too, so maybe it is a bit of me trying to be a Proverbs 31 chick too lol.  I saw no reason why I couldn’t succeed with cloth, I have my own washing machine (not a community one in an apartment building) and I am a full time Mom.  I didn’t think they would be a “passion” though.

Well, as weird as it may seem , I love cloth diapers!! Seriously, it is like a hobby (not the actual diaper changing of course, but even that gives me a chance to connect with Leia and try and make her more comfortable and happy). There is totally a cloth diaper community out there too, apparently a lot of Moms get passionate about cloth diapers. I guess part of it is just the amount of time you spend cloth diapering and the overabundance of variety available in cloth diapers. There are so many kinds to try and you change so many diapers so comparing them and finding ones you like comes naturally, and even getting excited about certain kinds that make your life easier or have other qualities you like. I definitely get why people don’t cloth diaper, if I was working outside the home I will be honest I probably wouldn’t deal with it, if I had to share washers with an apartment building full of people I might not want to soak my poopy diapers in everyones washer either 🙂 But for me I just have not found cloth diapering to be too inconvenient. The only time I have used disposables was the hospital, because well I just had a lot on my mind going there and didn’t want to deal with packing all my new and unused CD stuff, and then our road trip to San Francisco because you just have to pack so many CD’s (though our last long weekend at the beach I did do cloth 🙂 For long vacations I plan on giving into disposables with the exception of swim diapers most likely, again just because of the packing issue and having transport all my dirt diapers back home. (I don’t want to be soaking diapers in a sink at a resort in Hawaii!)

So I don’t even really know why I love them I just do! I know that I love the cost, I feel pretty confident they cause less diaper rash and have less nasty chemicals and things to rub against a baby’s skin, I love that I don’t feel so wasteful, and they are super cute and to me look more comfortable than disposables. My favorites FYI are envibums. I will include a link because I love the company and the product so much! I hope to have envibums take over my whole CD stash.  They are all in ones (this means they basically are like a disposable in that you just velcro the diaper on baby and then throw the whole thing in the wash when it is dirty) and fit from 7lbs to 35 lbs! So even though they are about 20$ a piece (I am building my stash slowly) they can last all of baby’s diapering days! http://www.envibum.com/

My other thing is my Beco baby carrier, aah I love it. I researched and researched baby carriers before choosing it. I knew I wanted a back pack type carrier as well as my wrap. The wrap hold is great at having a nice tight swaddle type hold for a new baby, but yikes it is super hot to wear and just not working now that it is summer. The Beco is a versatile carrier, baby can ride facing me, facing out, on my back or on my hip. Right now, she just rides facing me, she is just about old enough to face out a bit if she wants. I love the freedom it gives me to walk the dog, push a grocery cart instead of a stroller or a grocery cart taken over by her in a car seat. It really is pretty easy on my back, which for me is a big deal. It really is a great tool if you want to stay active!

I wouldn’t say breastfeeding is an obsession, it definitely isn’t a hobby for me. I think it is totally worth it and am really thankful I have had a pretty smooth experience so far with it, but even when it is going well I find it to be hard work! It is just a lot to feed a baby every two hours. I always remind myself that bottles are probably an even bigger pain in a lot of ways, but it kind of wears you out! I mean it takes about 1200 calories a day, that is no joke! On the bright side it has meant for me a great natural weight loss plan 🙂 So I don’t obsess over it in the way I do my diapers, but it is hard work and it is hard to not be proud about it sometimes. Maybe that sounds dumb, but when you do hit a rough patch with it and keep going and overcome it it seems like a big deal and you know you are only doing it because you feel it is best for your baby so I can just kind of understand why some women get so big into lactation rights and everything, it isn’t totally my thing, but I can understand it. I remember as a teenager thinking I would never breastfeed, but I am a very different girl than I was then 🙂 It is pretty cool that God can use your body to provide such specialized nutrition for your baby. An even though, personally I am kind of looking forward to the day I can just hand her some cheerios and a sippy cup when we are out in public, I feel blessed to be able to breastfeed and really hope to do it for a full year (though if at 6 months she seriously slows down or something I don’t know that I will be quite as upset as I thought I would have been before I was pregnant)

Leave a Reply

