Sorry Beethoven, I’m crazy :)

I do a lot of singing to Leia and I love it. You may or may not know I used to sing a lot. I took voice lessons for years and sang in a lot of contexts. After college though I just didn’t really have occasion to sing and it is great to have Leia to sing to now 🙂 I don’t know that we have one set lullaby. The Beatle’s “Blackbird” seems to be a big hit and a go to number for our nightly soundtrack.  I sing a lot of worship songs, which is great because as a Mom of an infant devotional time is a little sketchy so I get to worship and comfort her at the same time. Sometimes I end up doing medleys, I start with Blackbird, for instance, and then just start singing all the Beatles songs I can think of.  Which can lead to some weird song choices for a one month old, but at 3 AM I just start sining what I can remember and what entertains me  at times, so Billy Joel’s “Piano Man” or Simon and Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” become lullabys too. ( I need to probably be more careful as she gets older, I don’t want her going around singing about “an old man sitting next to me making love to his tonic and gin”.

As a stay at home mom of an infant things can get a little weird at times. I know I can’t be the only girl who finds herself doing and saying some strange things at times when it is just her and the baby during the day, or during middle of the night feedings, etc. One example would be something like this: while changing one of Leia’s diaper explosions I found myself humming Beethoven’s 5th symphony, but the humming became lyrics- “poop in the pants”. Those four words over and over to the tune of Beethoven’s 5th are surprisingly catchy and sadly I find myself singing it without realizing it quite a bit now. At least she is getting exposure to classical music.  (It is really ridiculous when I start singing it opera style!)

I would love to hear weird and stupid things other moms have been driven too!

4 thoughts on “Sorry Beethoven, I’m crazy :)

  1. Haha! This post made me laugh out loud. I can totally relate! I sign all sort of thing, very much like “poop in the pants”. Of late our songs have been about “being sleepy”. I think they have been more of a plea to go to sleep. I sing about sleeping to all sorts of different tunes, hymns, rock songs, kids songs, whatever! We still spell Ailyn’ name while singing to the hidden Bare Naked Ladies track. And I still sing “Dancing Bean” rather than Dancing Queen to Carys (her nickname has been bean since birth, and yes, we change the lyrics). It sounds like you are having fun with mundane tasks of mommyhood 🙂

    • I get the plea for sleep thing now, last night we were up every two hours as opposed to her normal awesome 4-5 hour stretches :/ I was singing blessed be the name and during the verses it was something like “Blessed be your name when the baby won’t go to sleep and only wants to fuss, blessed be your name!”

  2. Oh! And just wait until she can sing songs herself. Fitz and Carys are always singing hymns. Our favorite is “On Christ the Solid Rock” which used to sounds like, “On Christ the Solid Rockistan,” when Carys sang it. But she sang it on the top of her lungs with her whole heart. Precious.

Leave a Reply

