Research and Body Pillows

I am 19 weeks today, almost halfway there, which means “yay!!!” and  also “wait I have so much to think about before the baby gets here, and stuff to accumulate!”

I am very excited about the body pillow I just ordered from Amazon, I hope it is as comfortable as it sounds, because over the last couple of weeks I have noticed it is getting really hard to be comfortable at all. I really noticed it sitting in a movie theatre, I act like my hyper boy students, I can’t sit still, but not because I have had too much sugar or have ADHD (which according to a great seminar I was at today can very well just be a product of the American sugar laden diet, but anyway…) but because I cannot be comfortable in a chair for more than 30 seconds at a time without moving! The same goes for lying in a bed as well, which is more what the body pillow is for.  If it isn’t one thing it is another with being pregnant, the nausea finally gets manageable, I won’t say gone because sometimes when I wake up I still throw up, but I hardly even notice it anymore, and now it is true morning sickness, its just a little in the morning and then I am pretty much fine in that department the rest of the day and evening. So fine I can live with the few minutes in the morning thing, it was the 24/7 thing that was getting really old. So yeah, nausea on the backburner, squished bladder, heartburn, and the impossibility of sitting or lying comfortably has moved to the front. I take heartburn over hurling! 🙂

I have been at a Christian educator’s conference this weekend (writing this in the hotel lobby waiting to head home). It has been more difficult than I thought just because of all the sitting in chairs for long periods of time, but today I went to some really great sessions on brain development and one even focused a bit on infant brain development and how crucial it is to keep kids from developing learning issues when they are school age.  So no pressure I just have to keep my baby from developing learning problems that will affect them their whole life!  One main thing I picked up, don’t overstimulate! so if you plan on seeing my baby during those first 6 weeks of its life, don’t get all up in its face with toys and loud noises please. I am avoiding toys with lights and sounds, except the instructor recommended the teddy bear that plays the Mom’s heartbeat sound for baby as a soother (I found a really cute lamb version on Amazon). I am going to read a book called “Building Babies Better” to help me create the right environment for baby and pick through the maze of consumer goods marketed for parents. I am a researcher by nature as my Mom said so I just can’t go into this uninformed. I don’t want to be crazy or obsessive, but boy if there are things I can do to keep my child from being like some of the kids I see in school someday, well then I will do some homework now. Perhaps, I need to work on some control issues, I mean I know you can’t control who your child is, but I do want to give them the best start I can. Brain research is always really interesting to me, and so much of what I heard today made a lot of sense, and the idea that common problems kids have in school are linked to brain development even in the womb means I want to be aware of the little things that might help my child develop soundly.

I hope I can keep some of this info I am gleaning in my head when I am sleep deprived and changing ten diapers a day 🙂 Good thing I am not doing this alone, I mean David of course, but also knowing that ultimately my kids belong to God and he has enough grace for me and for them everyday!

 

One thought on “Research and Body Pillows

Leave a Reply

