Make way for the Princess (probably)

Well I haven’t written in a while. I think I have been waiting until I had an idea about the gender, everyone keeps asking and all. We went to the doctor yesterday and she  said it looked like a girl, no sign of boy parts. She said 60% and told us to wait until our formal ultrasound on No. 22nd to be more certain. She also said they hesitate more on committing with girls, because it is easier for something to be hiding from view and our baby wouldn’t open its little legs quite wide enough to be certain.

I think I have mentioned I had been having to stop myself from referring to the baby as a she for weeks now, so for what it is worth I feel like that was what my intuition was saying. I am trying to stay calm and cool just in case something reveals itself on the 22nd, but I am definitely thinking girl thoughts and thinking Leia when I mentally refer to the baby, or sometimes when I speak to the baby out loud. I know that there have been a few cases of people being told the wrong gender (though I get an ultrasound with every doctor’s visit, which wasn’t always the norm, so I am kind of doubtful they could keep getting it wrong up until the delivery room and those ultrasounds are so clear now)  and I am sure calling the baby by the wrong name for a few weeks in the womb didn’t have any horrible lasting effects anyway. I am sure if I need to make a mental shift in ten days I will be able to do that. I mean it is not as though I won’t be excited about a boy too, and I know I will love whatever pops out in April so very much, but yeah it is just too much between the last ultrasound and my intuitions to not feel like this is my daughter right now, so much so that I am just going with it for the most part 🙂 Now, I am not running around buying everything pink of course, beside I definitely want to do this again, and I don’t want all our big ticket items to be so girly a future son could not use them as well. I will wait for Nov 22nd before I put gender specific items on any registries and things like that.

It is hard to describe, but I have a peaceful joy right now about the whole gender thing and I of course feel giddy when I think of a baby girl! Not in such a way that I would be heartbroken by any means if by some chance it is not a girl, a boy would just be a different kind of adventure, but I feel so happy to think of having a daughter. I feel I have so much I want to share with her and so much I want do with her. So though there is a tentativeness still in the air I am having a hard time being stressed about it surprisingly and feeling increasingly happy about the baby inside of me, girl or boy.

Also, just about to hit week 18 tomorrow and the nausea is pretty much gone. For about a week now I have a little uh oh time in the morning when I wake up, but for the most part am pretty stable through the day and evening, so that is AWESOME. Now I still eat kind of weird, and get really tired, as well as the addition of heartburn to my daily routine, but soooo much better and I am so relieved about that.

Now, to work for an hour in my closet. I am going to box up all my summer clothes (overdue) as well as all the fall/winter stuff I can’t wear due to pregnancy so all that should remain is my few maternity clothes and the few things that are not maternity but I can still wear. The idea is a pretty empty closet with just the things I wear now through postpartum transitional time. I am wondering if it will look like I have hardly any clothes once that happens (though I am gaining a few more things, ebay I am finding is a great place for cheapo maternity things as well). I need to share my closet, at least for a while, with the baby though and so I need to make room, especially since I am probably sharing with a little princess Leia!

4 thoughts on “Make way for the Princess (probably)

  1. Amanda, this is a wonderful post.It clearly shows your excitement, ambivalence and love.I’m so glad you’re feeling better and getting to the point where you can enjoy this adventure.
    Lots of love to you and David (and Leia!)
    Susie

  2. So excited for you! Leia is such a beautiful name. I looked it up and the Hebrew meaning is “weary”, but the Spanish meaning is “loyal”. So cute to think of David with a little girl. 🙂 Missing you and thinking of you often! 🙂

    • Oh I so miss you!! It is harder being pregnant being so far from you and Mom, etc! David has really been hoping for a girl this first time actually and he is super excited about the name. I can’t remember which one of us came up with it (we thought of names on our honeymoon over 6 years ago now!) but we both liked it. I will go with the Spanish meaning I think 🙂

Leave a Reply

